top of page
Search
  • Angela Bender

Raw Artist Premiere ~ Phoenix


It's been a while since I've posted! A lot has happened loves...

I moved to the Phoenix area (Mesa) in the summer of 2018 and spent the year getting adjusted. I picked my artwork back up, fixing damages to the dreamcatchers that happened during the move. As my creative process and motivation started to flow again, I found homes in the public so they would start to be viewed and gain appeal to an audience. One of them hung in my office at work, I am helping to design jewelry at a local jewelry store. Another hung in my sisters salon studio.

A friend of mine inspired me to enter the dreamcatchers into an art show. To do this meant that I had to send in applications. As I started to put in research online, I started getting ads in my social media feeds (of course). I came across one that appealed to me and figured, why not?, so I went for it. I actually sent in my application to showcase!

After a few months, I sort of forgot all about my previous intentions. I put more hope into just selling them to customers from within the offices that they were currently hanging. And then one day...

I GOT THE EMAIL!!! They want me to showcase in their upcoming Phoenix presentation!

After a few days of contemplation, and going through every emotion imaginable, I finally accepted! This meant that I had to start making more pieces so I have enough to fill a display. I started planning projects and what would flow well with what I already had.

More dreamcatchers of course needed to be made, but I just didn't have the materials to make them. I came up with an idea that would allow me to make a batch-full of affordable pieces, something that is most likely to sell multiple of at a crafting display. MINI DREAMCATCHERS with a twist, of course!

I knew I wanted to incorporate painting into my showcase, and what better way than to tie the two together that little mini dreamcatchers made out of wood slices. Each with their own painting on the faces, then accessorized with the ribbons, beads and feathers, just like the large dreamcatchers.

I then started painting! Something I have longed to do for such a long time. I got the materials as I could, and as soon as I had everything I needed, I started acrylic paint pouring. I did hours and hours of research behind this medium and I was finally in a place where I could put in some practice! I think I ruined more than I accomplished at first. I was super frustrated. However, not willing to give up, I kept pushing and using what I was learning to move forward. I soon started ending up with usable pieces and ones that I was extremely proud to show.

I felt like I still needed something else. I knew that some type of macrame would tie in well with the dreamcatchers, so I did a little internet searching. I found that I could make feathers by macrame! What a fun little project that turned out to be! I can just carry that stuff in my purse and do it whenever I have spare time, waiting for an appointment, or after dinner enjoying a show or movie with my daughter.

As the date for the show approaches, I am extremely nervous and excited. This has been a dream of mine since I was little. A cocktail attire art show where I am one of the showcased artists!! Dreams seriously do come true! If you would like to attend, please visit my artist profile to purchase your ticket! I have also attached my personal flyer here (click the flyer and it will open my artist profile). I truly hope to see you all there! You can also donate any amount or purchase a ticket in support if you are unable to attend.

Paypal: albender84@yahoo.com

Venmo: @angisartz

CashApp: $AngisArtz

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page